About Us

Mission and Vision

Be a catalyst! Ignite our community’s passion for nature and science.  

The Denver Museum of Nature & Science envisions an empowered community that loves, understands, and protects our natural world.

Core Values

  • We love science.
  • We are curious, creative, and playful.
  • We cultivate relationships with each other, diverse communities, the environment, and for our future.
  • We think critically and act with empathy.

Land Acknowledgment

The Denver Museum of Nature and Science respectfully acknowledges that the land we are on today is the traditional and ancestral homelands of the Cheyenne, Arapaho and Ute Nations. We also acknowledge the 48 contemporary tribal nations historically tied to the lands that comprise what is now called Colorado but who now live in the American Southwest, the Great Plains and the Rocky Mountain Region.

Inclusivity Statement

Science helps us understand that diversity in our natural world creates strength and nurtures life. We strive to be a diverse and collaborative team – a team of people from different backgrounds, identities and experiences who are open to being inspired, challenged and changed by one another. At all levels of our organization, in every policy, action and decision, we seek to create a workplace that lives our Museum values and to foster opportunity and mutual respect. We realize that we are on a continual journey toward building community, understanding, and belonging. These aspirations are critical to bringing our mission to life.

"Together with you, we share new discoveries with the world, preserve scientific treasures that pique curiosities, and open eyes and minds to the wonders of nature and science."

Board of Trustees

Chair: Kristin Richardson 
Vice Chair: Steve McConahey 
Executive Committee: Lisa Levin Appel, John Couzens, Henry Gordon, Steve Halstedt, Harold Logan Jr., Anne McCarthy, Steve McConahey, and Kristin Richardson 

Rick Ambrose, Lisa Levin Appel, Matthew Burkett, Christopher Chavez, John Couzens, James Crocker, Peter Dea, John Freyer, Henry Gordon, Steve Halstedt, Jena Hausmann, Allegra “Happy” Haynes, Jenny Hopkins, Alice Jackson, Walter “Buz” Koelbel Jr., John Levisay, David Liniger, Naresh Mandava, Christine Marquez-Hudson, Anne McCarthy, Steve McConahey, Susan McIntire, Kristin Richardson, Timothy Ryan, Mark Sexton, Mark Spiecker, Leo Tilman, Monty Cleworth, Jesus Salazar

Executive Profiles

Learn more about the leadership team at the Denver Museum of Nature & Science. 

Museum History

History of the Museum

The story of the Denver Museum of Nature & Science begins in 1868, when Edwin Carter moved into a tiny cabin in Breckenridge, Colorado, to pursue his passion: the scientific study of the birds and mammals of the Rocky Mountains. Almost single handedly, Carter assembled one of the most complete collections of Colorado fauna then in existence.

Read Full Description
Back To Top